Ed Sheeran and Ray Liotta Team Up for “Bloodstream”

Everybody’s favorite ginger, Ed Sheeran is back with his latest music video for the track, “Bloodstream.”

The video, unlike all of his previous ones, does not feature the musicians at all. Instead, GoodFellas actor Ray Liotta, plays the key role in the almost-film-like music video.

The video begins with Liotta’s character floating in a pool which quickly switches to telling the story of his wealthy man and how unhappy he is. Even though he has lots of money which he can blow on things like electric guitars, tons of booze, lots of women, and even a horse that follow him around his huge mansion, he’s just not happy with life hence his suicide type tendencies.

Check out the sad and somber video below and remember that old saying your mother (father, grandparents or whatever) used to tell you, “money can’t buy happiness” and apparently for this guy, it can’t.

The “Bloodstream” music video premiered earlier in the day during the YouTube Music Awards. The song is featured on Sheeran’s recently released record, X.

YouTube Music Awards: The Winners List


Co-host Jason Schwartzman said it best at the beginning of the show, “there’s nothing scripted tonight — it’s about anything happening.”

While many people who watched the first annual YouTube Music Awards called it a hot mess at best, there were a few surprises of the evening including a new song from Lady Gaga after her new album had already been leaked as well as a lesser known act taking home the award for Video of the Year.

The show which was streamed through the video watching site since, you know it is their show, only garnered a total of 220,000 viewers, but that didn’t stop the awards from being given out to those that deserved it, according to fans that vote.

Check out the full list of winners below.

But hey, got to give the masterminds of YouTube credit, you always need to start somewhere and there’s only up from here.


Video of the Year: “I Got A Boy,” Girls’ Generation

Artist of the Year: Eminem

Response of the Year: Lindsey Stirling & Pentatonix, “Radioactive”

YouTube Phenomenon: “I Knew You Were Trouble”

YouTube Breakthrough: Macklemore & Ryan Lewis

Innovation of the Year: DeStorm, “See Me Standing”

YouTube Music Awards Nominees Announced


Remember how last month were told that YouTube would finally be competing with all the big music awards by creating their own? Well, at that time, the names of the nominees were yet to be revealed even though they had told us that it would take place in November in New York and that Lady Gaga and Eminem have already been confirmed as performers.

Today, the list of nominees have finally been released and for the most part, it looks very similar to every other award show that we have had this year; okay, fine, it looks more like the MTV Video Awards than the Grammys.

Leading the pack, quite like the American Music Awards are Macklemore and Ryan Lewis and we can’t forget all those who just happened to make into the mainstream music world thanks to YouTube, Justin Bieber and PSY. But while the list does tend to lean towards the mainstream world, there are some hidden, unknown, hidden gems in the mix including Toro Y Moi, Atoms for Peace, Lindsey Sterling and many others.

The full list of nominees can be seen below.


Video of the Year:

Epic Rap Battles of History – “Barack Obama vs Mitt Romney”
Demi Lovato – “Heart Attack”
Girls’ Generation ­- “I Got a Boy”
Justin Bieber (feat. Nicki Minaj) – “Beauty and a Beat”
Lady Gaga ­- “Applause”
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis (feat. Mary Lambert) – “Same Love”
Miley Cyrus ­ – “We Can’t Stop”
One Direction ­- “Best Song Ever”
PSY ­- “Gentleman”
Selena Gomez ­- “Come & Get It”

Artist of the Year:

Epic Rap Battles
Justin Bieber
Katy Perry
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
Nicki Minaj
One Direction
Taylor Swift

Response of the Year:

Boyce Avenue (feat. Fifth Harmony) ­- “Mirrors
Jayesslee ­- “Gangnam Style”
Lindsey Stirling and Pentatonix ­- “Radioactive”
ThePianoGuys ­- “Titanium / Pavane”
Walk Off the Earth (feat. KRNFX) – “I Knew You Were Trouble”

YouTube Phenomenon:

Gangnam Style
Harlem Shake
I Knew You Were Trouble
Thrift Shop

YouTube Breakthrough:

Kendrick Lamar
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
Naughty Boy

Innovation of the Year:

Anamanaguchi ­- “ENDLESS FANTASY”
Atoms for Peace ­- “Ingenue”
Bat for Lashes ­- “Lilies”
DeStorm ­- “See Me Standing”
Toro y Moi – “Say That”

Aside from all the nominees being revealed, performers for the evening were also confirmed. Joining Lady Gaga, Eminem and the Arcade Fire now are Avicii, M.I.A., Tyler, the Creator, Earl Sweatshirt among others. Host of the evening, Jason Schwartzman will now have comedian Reggie Watts as a co-host for the event that is scheduled to take place at Pier 36 on November 3.

For those not able to attend, the full event will be live-streamed through, where else, YouTube.

YouTube Announces Its Own Award Show


It was only a matter of time before the place were all videos and people go to become internet sensations would their own awards.

YouTube announced earlier today, that they have gone ahead and made up their own award show because when you give the world some artists that would have never made it (hello Justin Bieber and Psy) on their own, you know that you have some super powers.

The YouTube Music Awards might not be threatening any of the several dozen music awards shows we love to obsess over, but they are definitely bringing out the big guns in the form of the guests that will be making their appearances on the show. As of now, Lady Gaga, Eminem and the Arcade Fire have been confirmed to attend while many others will be making taped appearance from different locations around the world. This stunt is an effort from the YouTube masterminds to show how far the website’s reach goes.

The show will be giving out seven awards, total, and the list of nominees will be announced on October 17. Nominees will consist of artists who over the course of the last year have garnered the most views, share and any other type of online love from fans and haters alike.

The show will be 90-minutes long and will be broadcast through YouTube straight from Pier 39 in New York. The host for the show will be former Phantom Planet drummer and actor, Jason Schwartzman while Where the Wild Things Are director, Spike Jonze will be taking over as creative director of the show.

Tickets will be available later on this month, but as to how you can get one, it is still unknown as well as that YouTube Music Award will look like.

For now, check out the commercial for the awards below.