Warner Bros. Announce DC Entertainment Films Among Others


DC Comics has officially taken the war against longtime competitor Marvel Comics to the big screen.

Marvel has seen success in recent years thanks to the big screen adaptations of some of their beloved characters like Iron Man, Thor, and of course The Avengers as a whole. But today, Warner Bros. made an announcement that might result in Marvel and their parent company, Walt Disney, watching their back.

Warner Bros. CEO Kevin Tuijihara announced plans for their DC Entertainment properties this morning which included ten DC movies to be released between 2016 and 2020. Three Harry Potter spin-offs and three Lego movies were also announced.

The on slaughter of DC movies will begin with the much-anticipated and talked about (#Batfleck?) Batman V Superman: Dawn of Justice set for a March 2016 release date. Originally, the film was supposed to be released in May 2016, but Warner Bros. decided to move up the date to avoid competition from Marvel’s Captain America 3 reportedly due out around at that time.

In August, Warner Bros. had announced nine untitled releases for those years and now we have the official names for each film.


Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice – directed by Zack Snyder (2016)
Suicide Squad – directed by David Ayer (2016)
Wonder Woman  starring Gal Gadot (2017)
Justice League Part One – directed by Snyder, with Ben Affleck, Henry Cavill and Amy Adams reprising their roles (2017)
The Flash – starring Ezra Miller (2018)
Aquaman – starring Jason Momoa (2018)
Shazam – Dwayne Johnson said he would be playing Black Adam(2019)
Justice League Part Two – directed by Zack Snyder (2019)
Cyborg starring Ray Fisher (2020)
Green Lantern (2020)

Aside from the DC Comics, Warner Bros also announced three Harry Potter spin-offs which are set to be released in 2016, 2018, and 2020, respectively. The films will follow the book series/ film franchise’s mythology based on author J.K. Rowling’s Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them novella.

The first of three films will act as Rowling’s debut as a screenwriter and will be directed by Harry Potter director, David Yates.

The Lego Movie which saw major success earlier this year, will also be coming back with three movies over the course of four years. Ninjago in 2016, followed by The Lego Batman Movie in 2017, and The Lego Movie 2 in 2018.

New Justice League Member Role Cast


When it was announced that Ben Affleck would be taking the place of Christian Bale as Batman for the ‘sequel’ to Man of Steel, the whole world it seemed rioted against the choice in actor.

Affleck, who previously played Daredevil in the 2003 film adaptation of the comic, was not welcomed by fans when he was chosen to take the role that Bale had portrayed for six years.

Today, it was revealed that another member of the Justice League had been cast and it’s one of the roles that had several female actress line-up for; the role of Wonder Woman.

Man of Steel and Batman vs Superman director, Zack Snyder took the internet to reveal that Israeli model turned actress, Gal Gadot would be putting on the iconic blue, red and gold costume made famous by Lynda Carter and modernized by Adrianne Palicki in the never-made-it-to-air Wonder Woman series by The CW.

“Wonder Woman is arguably one of the most powerful female characters of all time and a fan favorite in the DC Universe,”  Snyder said in a statement. “Not only is Gal an amazing actress, but she also has that magical quality that makes her perfect for the role. We look forward to audiences discovering Gal in the first feature film incarnation of this beloved character.”

And like all things, fans took to social media, mostly Twitter, to address how they felt about the casting decision. Gadot’s bio lists Fast & Furious 6Fast FiveFast & Furious and Knight and Day as some of the films she had acted in.

No matter what the opinion is, looks like Gadot will in fact be Wonder Woman in the film that is slated to hit theaters on July 17, 2015.