Listen: Arctic Monkeys drop new B-side track ‘Anyways’

Months after releasing their brand new album, the Arctic Monkeys have returned with a surprise new song. On Friday (Nov. 30), the English rock band unleashed their first new track since the release of their sixth studio album, Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino. Titled “Anyways,” the new tune is the B-side track on the quartet’s recently released 7-inch vinyl pressing of the album’s title track, “Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino.”

Listen to “Anyways” above.

As previously mentioned, “Anyways” is featured on the group’s “Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino” vinyl. The record is currently available for purchase on the band’s website. In addition to the 7-inch, fans will also receive a digital download of both songs.

Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino was released in May through Domino. Upon the album’s release, it was met with generally positive reviews from critics and fans alike.

The album debuted at the number one spot on the UK Albums Chart, with combined sales of 86,000 copies. Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino became the group’s sixth consecutive album to debut at number one in the United Kingdom. In the United States, the album debuted at number eight on the Billboard 200 chart, selling 47,000 units.

In addition to the new song, the band also released a short film called “Warp Speed Chic.” The video features live performance from their recent tour dates as well as behind-the-scenes and studio footage. Watch the 11-minute, Ben Chappell-directed video here.

Arctic Monkeys announce release of ‘Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino’

The Arctic Monkeys have officially returned.

After years of making fans wait, the group has finally confirmed the release of their sixth studio album. On Thursday (April 5), the Sheffield-founded group revealed that their new EP will be titled Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino and will see a release date of May 11 through Domino Records. The new record was co-produced by the band’s longtime collaborator James Ford and frontman Alex Turner. This will mark Turner’s first time co-producing an Arctic Monkeys’ full-length record.

Pre-orders for the new album can be found here. The band is currently offering two different versions of the new album; a special edition vinyl or CD. As with most new albums, Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino will be available on digital streaming platforms as well.

The band made the formal announcement by posting a 40-second clip on YouTube. The short clip begins with the screen completely dark, but begins to come to light to show a white, futuristic looking item. About 30 seconds in, the title of the album appears on the screen as bluesy rock instrumentals play in the background. Watch the Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino teaser clips above.

Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino is the follow-up to the Arctic Monkey’s 2013 release, AM. The new record will also feature a total of 11 new tracks. The complete track listing for Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino can be seen below.

In addition to the new album, the Arctic Monkeys also unveiled plans to reissue their debut album, 2006’s Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not. The reissue was made for vinyl subscription service Vinyl Me, Please. The reissue is Vinyl Me, Please’s “Record of the Month” for April 2018.

Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino Tracklist:

01. “Star Treatment”
02. “One Point Perspective”
03. “American Sports”
04. “Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino”
05. “Golden Trunks”
06. “Four Out of Five”
07. “The World’s First Ever Monster Truck Front Flip”
08. “Science Fiction”
09. “She Looks Like Fun”
10. “Batphone”
11. “The Ultracheese”