Coldplay unveil ‘Everyday Life’ tracklisting via newspapers across the world

Leave it to Coldplay to continue unveiling crucial details about their new studio album on the down-low.

On Thursday (Oct. 24), word got out that the British band had released the complete track listing for their upcoming double album, Everyday Life. Instead of releasing the news with pomp and circumstance like many musicians tend to do, Coldplay decided to go in another direction and publish the list via the classifieds section of Wales’ Daily Post.

The blink-and-you-may-miss-it ad features the name of the album at the top of the ad and two columns to represent the two albums (Sunrise and Sunset) and their corresponding tracks.

Sunrise will include tracks such as “Sunrise,” “Church,” “Trouble in Town,” “BrokEn,” “Daddy,” “WOTW/POTP,” “Arabesque,” and “When I Need a Friend.” Sunset will feature songs such as “Guns,” “Orphans,” “Èkó,” “Cry Cry Cry,” “Old Friends,” “Champion of the World,” and the record’s title track “Everyday Life.”

For those who were on the fence about the validity of the ad, guitarist Jonny Buckland quickly confirmed that it did come from the band and that he had a personal connection with the Daily Post.

“I once had a holiday job at the Daily Post, placing photos of houses for sale. I wasn’t very good at it,” Buckland tweeted from the band’s Twitter account.

The Daily Post wasn’t the only newspaper to feature Coldplay’s latest announcement. According to Rolling Stone, Exeter’s Express and Echo, Melbourne’s The Age, Chinese-language paper Sin Chew Daily, and France’s Le Monde all featured the same ad.

The band’s decision to unveil Everyday Life‘s tracklist via the classifieds should not come as much of a surprise as it did.

In the letter sent to fans earlier in the week, Coldplay told them that “in the classifieds, you might write ‘double album for sale, one very careful owner.’ One half is called ‘Sunrise,’ the other ‘Sunset.’”

And take to the classifieds they did.

Everyday Life is the long-awaited follow-up to the group’s smash 2015 record, A Head Full of Dreams. While they have released some EPs in that time —Kaleidoscope and Live in Buenos Aires— a full album was never part of the plan.

No word on when fans can expect the first single off the double release.

We’re guessing this means we should probably start looking at the classifieds section of our local newspapers…we may get a link to a new song.

Yellowcard announce title of eighth studio album, reveal track listing


Back in February, Yellowcard not only confirmed that they had returned to Hopeless Records, but that they were also in the middle of working on a new record. Since the announcement, the band has been posting images from the studio as they worked on the new album, getting their fans ready for some new tunes. On Tuesday (June 7), the Florida-founded group announced not only the title and release date for the impending release, but also released its track listing and cover art.

The new record will be titled Yellowcard and is set to be released on Sept. 30 through Hopeless Records. The new album will also feature a total of ten new songs while the cover art was shot by the group’s guitarist, Ryan Mendez. While we wait for pre-order information and the first single, both the album’s cover art and track listing can be seen below.


Yellowcard track listing:

1. “Rest in Peace”
2. “What Appears”
3. “Got Yours”
4. “A Place We Set Afire”
5. “Leave a Light On”
6. “The Hurt is Gone”
7. “Empty Street”
8. “I’m a Wrecking Ball”
9. “Savior’s Robes”
10. “Fields & Fences”

Yellowcard marks the band’s return to Hopeless Records. “It’s a huge honor to announce that we have started working on our 8th studio recording which will be released later this year on Hopeless Records. We couldn’t be more happy to be working with the Hopeless family again,” the band said in a statement released at the beginning of 2016,” the band said in a statement at the beginning of the year.

Back in 2014, Yellowcard had announced that they had joined forces with Razor & Tie Records for the release of their seventh studio record, Lift a Sail. But it looks like things didn’t pan out because they returned back to Hopeless after just one record. In some pre-release support of the self-titled record, Yellowcard will be hit the road this summer on the 2016 Vans Warped Tour.