Inaugural iHeardRadio Music Award Winners


After three hours of musical performances including Pitbull with GRL, Ariana Grande, Kendrick Lamar, 30 Seconds to Mars giving a tribute to Los Angeles with “City of Angels” and a special performance by Usher in honor of the late Michael Jackson featuring a never-before-heard track, “Love Never Felt So Good” which Justin Timberlake collaborated on, the inaugural iHeartRadio Awards have officially called it a night.

The award show, which featured some of Top 40 radio station artists were nominated for a series on awards including “Best Lyrics,” “Best New Artists,” “Best Collaboration” and some different categories such as “Best Fan Army” and for those avid social media fans, “Best Instagram” which Parenthood‘s Jason Ritter became the social media counselor (when in doubt, add cats).

Check out the full list of winners who received the first batch of iHeardRadio statues:


Artist of the Year:

Imagine Dragons
Justin Timberlake
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
Maroon 5
Rihanna (WINNER)

Best Lyrics:

“Wake Me Up” – Avicii (Vocals by Aloe Blacc)
“I Love It” (featuring Charli XCX) – Icona Pop
“Say Something” – A Great Big World
“Same Love” – Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
“Wrecking Ball” – Miley Cyrus (WINNER)

Best Collaboration:

“Holy Grail” – Jay Z featuring Justin Timberlake
“Stay” – Rihanna featuring Mikky Ekko
“Suit & Tie” – Justin Timberlake featuring Jay Z
“The Monster” – Eminem featuring Rihanna
“Timber” – Pitbull featuring Kesha (WINNER)

Hip Hop/R&B Song of the Year:

“Blurred Lines” – Robin Thicke featuring T.I. & Pharrell
“Hold On We’re Going Home” – Drake featuring Majid Jordan
“Holy Grail” – Jay Z featuring Justin Timberlake
“Pour It Up” – Rihanna (WINNER)
“Started from the Bottom” – Drake

Song of the Year:

“Hold On, We’re Going Home” – Drake featuring Majid Jordan
“Mirrors” – Justin Timberlake
“Radioactive” – Imagine Dragons
“Stay” – Rihanna featuring Mikky Ekko (WINNER)
“The Monster” – Eminem featuring Rihanna

Best New Artist:

Florida Georgia Line
Icona Pop
Imagine Dragons
Lorde (WINNER) 
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis

Country Song of the Year:

“Boys ‘Round Here” – Blake Shelton (WINNER)
“Highway Don’t Care” – Tim McGraw with Taylor Swift
“It Goes Like This” – Thomas Rhett
“Mine Would Be You” – Blake Shelton
“That’s My Kind of Night” – Luke Bryan

EDM Song of the Year:

“Get Lucky” Daft Punk featuring Pharrell
“Stay the Night” – Zedd featuring Hayley Williams
“Summertime Sadness” – Zedd featuring Hayley Williams
“Sweet Nothing” – Calvin Harris featuring Florence Welch
“Wake Me Up” – Avicii (WINNER)

Alternative Rock Song of the Year:

“Demons” – Imagine Dragons (WINNER)
“Do I Wanna Know?” – Arctic Monkeys
“Pompeii” – Bastille
“Royals” – Lorde
“Safe and Sound” – Capital Cities

Best Fan Army:

Arianators – Ariana Grande
Little Monsters – Lady Gaga
Lovatics – Demi Lovato
Mahomies – Austin Mahone
Rihanna Navy – Rihanna (WINNER) 
Swifties – Taylor Swift

Innovator Award:

Pharrell Williams (and his hat)

Young Influence Award:

Ariana Grande