Green Day, Stevie Wonder, The Killers to headline the Global Citizen Festival

Green Day, the Killers, and Stevie Wonder are just some of the big names set to invade New York City later this year for the 2017 Global Citizen Festival. On Tuesday (Aug. 1), the annual, good-cause music festival announced a diverse lineup for the 2017 incarnation of the musical event. Pharrell Williams, Big Sean, Andra Day, the Lumineers, Alessia Cara, and the Chainsmokers will also be featured on the lengthy bill. According to a press release from the music festival, more special guests will be announced over the upcoming weeks.

The goal of the Global Citizen organization is to ask their followers, referred to as Global Citizens, to hold their leaders accountable for major world issues. Prior to the big concert event, Global Citizen will be campaigning to create major changes in the areas of education, food security, healthcare, gender equality, and sanitation. In addition to that, the group also aims to end poverty, take on climate change, and fight all kinds of inequalities by 2030.

“We’re grateful to be a part of this year’s Global Citizen Festival,” begins Green Day’s Billie Joe Armstrong in a statement. “American aid programs make a significant difference in the betterment of lives at home and around the world, and we should all want these programs to become stronger, not weaker. We all play a part in seeing this mission through and it starts with calling on all our leaders.”

“In this crucial time, there is nothing more exciting to me than having the honor of giving my gift of song, words and motivation to the Global Citizen Festival,” said two-time performer Stevie Wonder. “When we commit ourselves to life issues, we are showing love of the Most High. I was, I am and will always be, a citizen connected to the spirit of everyone on this planet moving forward. Let’s go!”

“We can’t wait to get back to our hometown of New York City and play for 60,000 people who have done amazing things to change the world,” begins the Chainsmokers’ statement. “We are so thankful to our fans for getting online and taking action to support less fortunate people around the world. We’ll see you on Sept. 23!”

The 2017 Global Citizen Festival will take place on Sept. 23 at New York’s Central Park. According to the music festival’s website, they are expecting approximately 60,000 Global Citizens to attend the musical event. Like the past years, tickets for the show will be distributed via a lottery system. Fans can get involved and informed on how to become a Global Citizen by checking out the music festival’s website here.


Seattle Radio Station Gets World Exclusive of ‘Gale Song’


Yesterday, we were all given the new of all the artists that would be featured on The Hunger Games: Catching Fire soundtrack. Musicians from different areas of the music world had been confirmed from big, arena selling acts such as Coldplay and Christian Aguilera on one side whole others are up-and-comers such a Lorde and Imagine Dragons.

Today, a Seattle radio station gave listeners a little treat when they posted an excerpt of The Lumineers’ contribution, “Gale Song.” The band, who had let the station do live broadcast of their set at Marymoor Park last Saturday, played the song during an encore during the show and at the time it had been unknown what it was.

The stations at first thought that it would be featured on their new album, but then it was revealed that the song was the one that would make its way on the Catching Fire soundtrack.

The song sticks to their folksy, slow feel which then leads to an emotional peak and then back to where it all began. While the song at the stations website is a live version of it, the official studio version will be released on November 19, when the soundtrack drops.

For now, head on over to 107.7 The End’s website and listen to the song or watch the video here:

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire Tracklist Revealed


We already know that Coldplay will be featured on the upcoming, The Hunger Games: Catching Fire soundtrack with their song “Atlas” and last week, The National also revealed that their song, “Lean” was almost no featured because it was too dark. Last night, Christina Aguilera revealed through her personal Twitter that she will also be featured on the soundtrack with a new, original song she had worked on titled, “We Remain.”

With all the news coming out about the musicians that will be on the sequel’s soundtrack, it was only a matter of time before the full track list featuring the titled of the songs and the musicians behind them will hit the web and that indeed happened today.

The soundtrack will not only featured the artists that have already been listed above, but other such as The Lumineers with “Gale Song,” Patti Smith with “Capital Letter,” Ellie Goulding with “Mirror” and many more.

The album is scheduled to be released on November 19, just a few days before the film is set to hit theaters on November 22.

Recently, The Hunger Games: Catching Fire had been in the news when it was announced that the movie would not be premiering first in the United States, rather it would be premiered across the ocean in Italy as part of the Rome Film Festival on November 14.

Check out the full artist and tracklist below.


1. “Atlas” — Coldplay
2. “Silhouettes” — Of Monsters and Men
3. “Elastic Heart” — Sia (ft. The Weeknd & Diplo)
4. “Lean” — The National
5. “We Remain” — Christina Aguilera
6. “Devil May Cry” — The Weeknd
7. “Who We Are” — Imagine Dragons
8. “Everybody Wants To Rule The World” — Lorde
9. “Gale Song” — The Lumineers
10. “Mirror” — Ellie Goulding
11. “Capital Letter” — Patti Smith
12. “Shooting Arrows At The Sky” — Santigold
13. “Place For Us” — Mikky Ekko
14. “Lights” — Phantogram
15. “Angel On Fire” — Antony and the Johnsons

Jimmy Fallon Covers The Lumineers


The Lumineers have officially made it.

As if getting playfully hit in the face by Sir Elton John (it happened to drummer, Jeremiah Fraites at the Grammys) didn’t secure the Colorado-based indie band a place in pop culture then Jimmy Fallon, Blake Shelton and Parks & Recreation star, Nick Offerman covering their hit song, “Ho Hey” may have done it.

Just in time for Easter, the late night host and his group of clucking friends formed The Chickeneers and covered the top 100 hit song on Fallon’s show.

Check out the video right here and have a little bit of a clucking laugh yourselves.