Listen: Sara Bareilles takes center stage in new Hamildrop track

Lin-Manuel Miranda is back with his latest Hamildrop! On Wednesday (Oct. 31), the actor unleashed “Theodosia Reprise,” his Hamildrop for the month of October. The tune features fellow Broadway buddy Sara Bareilles taking on a cut track from his hit musical, Hamilton. According to Broadway World, the song was supposed to take place during an intimate moment between Aaron Burr and his daughter, but was eventually removed from the final version of the show.

In addition to dropping the audio for the new tune, Miranda and Bareilles released its accompanying music video. The two-and-a-half-minute clip has a simple premise; the viewer watches Bareilles in the studio recording the track. The simplicity of the video lets the songstress’ soothing soulful vocals take center stage. The track also features the show’s orchestrator Alex Lacamoire on piano and bass and Roots bandleader Questlove on drums.

The video was shot and edited by Angie Bambii and Katia Spivakova. Watch the music video for “Theodosia Reprise” above.

“Theodosia Reprise” is one of many Hamildrops that have been released this year. The collection of songs range from a polka song by “Weird Al” Yankovic (“The Hamilton Polka“) to the March for Our Lives-inspired theater mashup “Found/Tonight” which features Miranda and Dear Evan Hansen‘s Ben Platt.

Fans can anticipate more Hamildrops through the rest of 2018. For more information about the collection of redone song, head on over to the series’ website.

As for Bareilles, the singer recently unleashed her brand new song, “Armor.” In a recent interview with Billboard, she unveiled that she was waiting until next year to debut the new song, but decided to release it early because of the Kavanaugh Hearings.

“This was a song that was meant to wait. We weren’t going to release anything until next year, and I was really moved by the experience of watching the Kavanaugh hearings. This song felt like it wanted to belong to this moment in time,” she explains to the publication. Read the full interview here.

Panic! at the Disco, P!nk, Kelly Clarkson to lead ‘The Greatest Showman’ covers album

The soundtrack to The Greatest Showman is one of the bestselling albums of the last year, so what better way to celebrate its momentous success than to release an album full of covers all done by some of music’s biggest stars. On Tuesday (Oct. 9), Atlantic Records announced plans to release a “reimagined” version of the RIAA 2x platinum-certified soundtrack. Panic! at the Disco, P!nk, Kelly Clarkson, and Sara Bareilles are just some of the artists who have been tapped to cover the film’s songs.

Panic! at the Disco will give their own spin to the film’s opening track, “The Greatest Show,” while Kelly Clarkson will take on Jenny Lind’s tear-jerking track, “Never Enough.” P!nk will cover “A Million Dreams” while her daughter, Willow Sage Hart, will make her debut on “A Million Dream (Reprise).” The revamped soundtrack will also include a special version of the album’s breakout track, “This is Me,” performed by actress Keala Settle, Kesha, and Missy Elliott.

In addition to the ten tracks, the album will also feature four bonus songs. The bonus tracks will include acapella group Pentatonix’s take on “The Greatest Show,” Kesha’s “This is Me,” and an acoustic version of “Rewrite the Stars” by the film’s star Zendaya.

The Greatest Showman – Reimagined will arrive on Nov. 16 through Atlantic Records. The reimagined version of the album was produced by the soundtrack’s songwriters Grammy, Tony, and Academy Award-winning duo Benj Pasek & Justin Paul.

The Greatest Showman‘s soundtrack is the first album of 2018 to sell one million copies in the United States and the seventh in Billboard history to spend 31 non-consecutive weeks on the Billboard 200’s top ten. The record spent two weeks at number one, the most weeks at the top of the chart for a live-action theatrical film musical soundtrack since 2007’s Dreamgirls: Music from the Motion Picture.

The complete track listing for The Greatest Showman-Reimagined can be seen below.


01. “The Greatest Show” – Panic! at the Disco
02. “A Million Dreams” – P!nk
03. “A Million Dreams (Reprise)” – Willow Sage Hart
04. “Come Alive” – Years & Years and Jess Glynne
05. “The Other Side” – MAX and Ty Dolla $ign
06. “Never Enough” – Kelly Clarkson
07. “This is Me (The Reimagined Remix)” – Keala Settle, Kesha, and Missy Elliott
08. “Rewrite the Stars” – James Arthur and Anne-Marie
09. “Tightrope” – Sara Bareilles
10. “From Now On” – Zac Brown Band

Bonus tracks:

11. “The Greatest Show” – Pentatonix
12. “Come Alive” – Craig David
13. “This is Me” – Kesha
14. “Rewrite the Stars (Acoustic)” – Zendaya