Silverstein announces ‘Dead Reflection,’ drops new music video

Just in time for their seventh time on the Vans Warped Tour, Silverstein has announced a brand new album. On Thursday (May 18), the Canadian band announced that their upcoming ninth studio album will be titled Dead Reflection and will see a mid-July release. The new album, their first since 2015’s I Am Alive in Everything I Touch, will be released on July 14 through Rise Records. Pre-orders for the new album are currently available here.

In addition to the new record confirmation, the band has also released the music video for the album’s lead single, “Retrograde.” The over-three-minute clip is simple; the group is performing in what can be assumed to be either a studio or warehouse. As frontman Shane Told shifts between screaming the lyrics and the clean vocals, the lights change color (a yellowish-brown for the screams and blue with hints of white for the clean vocals). Watch the complete music video for “Retrograde” above.

Dead Reflection‘s announcement comes a couple of days after the band posted a cryptic, 16-second clip online. The footage, at first, features a black background with a pink knot at the center of the screen and the sound of a body of water playing in the back. Midway through the 16 seconds, the image changes and is replaced by a date and time (May 18 at 2 p.m. EST).

Dead Reflection will mark the group’s new set of tunes since I Am Alive in Everything I Touch. Last October, they released a stand-alone single titled “Ghost.” The purpose of the song was to give fans something to hold them over until they were finished with the new album. As seen in the album track list below, the new album will in fact include “Ghost.”

According to a press release from Told, the new album has “the massive sound that fans have come to expect from the band, but being written during a time of pain and frustration has added a new element to the record that hasn’t been present on past releases.”

He added: “This record tells the story of how broken I was, how I found myself on a path of self-destruction, and how I had to fight to get my sanity and happiness back. The year-long journey was not an easy one. I fell down into many dark places, and ultimately I had to fight to resist against so many vices to get back into a positive light.”

The complete 11-track list for Dead Reflection can be seen below while the group’s full summer tour schedule can be found here.


1. “Last Looks”
2. “Retrograde”
3. “Lost Positives”
4. “Ghost”
5. “Aquamarine”
6. “Mirror Box”
7.” Demons”
8. “The Afterglow”
9. “Cut and Run”
10. “Secret’s Safe”
11. “Whiplash”

Crown the Empire unleash music video for ‘Zero’


A week after announcing the release of their new album, Crown the Empire has returned with the first song off the record. On Friday (June 10), the Texas band unleashed the music video for “Zero,” which can be considered the first single from the impending release. “We wrote this song specifically for our longtime fans,” begins vocalist Andy Leo.

“We feel that the song’s explosive energy coupled with the psychedelic production and video really puts our best foot forward to give the listener an idea of what they can expect to hear from the album overall. We hope you enjoy ‘Zero,’ your first taste of our album Retrograde. We are very excited for its release on July 22nd.” Watch the video for the new tune below.

As mentioned by Leo, “Zero” will be featured on their upcoming new album, Retrograde. Retrograde is set to be released on July 22 through Rise Records and is the follow-up to 2014’s The Resistance: Rise of The Runaways. Pre-orders for the new record are currently available here where they are offering a slew of bundles to pick from. In support of the newly announced record, the band will hit the road this summer on the 2016 Vans Warped Tour.

Crown the Empire announce new album, ‘Retrograde’


It’s been two years since Crown the Empire released a brand new record, but now it looks like things will change this upcoming summer. On Wednesday (June 1), the Texas-based band announced that they will be releasing their third studio album in mid-July. The new record will be titled Retrograde and will be released on July 22 through Rise Records. Pre-orders for the new record, which will feature a total of 13 new tracks, is currently available on the band’s website here. At the moment, there is a total of 12 Retrograde bundles for fans to pick from in addition to the normal options of vinyl, CD, digital download, or cassette.

“This album has been an accumulation of ideas, lessons and observations about who we are as a band and how we see the world,” vocalist Andy Leo explained in a statement. “It’s taken 5 years for us to grow and really nail down a sound that doesn’t fit the status quo of what people are expecting from us. We’ve reinvented ourselves and we hope you enjoy the ride.”

In support of the impending release, Crown the Empire will be hopping on the 2016 Vans Warped Tour for the entire journey. For now, both the new album teaser and album track listing can be seen below.


01. “SK-68”
02. “Are You Coming With Me?”
03. “Zero”
04. “Aftermath”
05. “Hologram”
06. “The Fear Is Real”
07. “Lucky Us”
08. “Weight of the World”
09. “Signs of Life”
10. “Oxygen”
11. “Kaleidoscope”
12. “For Days”
13. “Mercury”

The Retrograde announcement comes about seven months after guitarist Benn Vogelman left the group. The guitarist released a statement soon after his departure back in November of 2015 in which he confirmed that there was no bad blood between him and his former band mates; he just wanted to go in a different musical direction.

Retrograde is the follow-up to the group’s 2014 release, The Resistance: Rise of The Runaways. Funny enough, Retrograde is set to be released on the same exact day that The Resistance: Rise of The Runaways was.