Sum 41 share their tear-jerking music video for ‘Never There’

You may want to get the tissues ready because Sum 41’s newest music video is going to make you shed some serious tears.

On Tuesday (June 18), the Canadian band unleashed the music video for “Never There,” the third single off their upcoming new album.

The four-and-a-half-minute clip begins with a kid skateboarding around town while frontman Deryck Whibley sits in a sunlit room playing the piano. The camera pans to a photograph with the kid, and two people who we can assume are his parents.

The scenery changes to the kid sitting at the kitchen table as his parents argue behind him. Instead of staying to watch the argument escalate, he walks away. The fight soon spills to the front yard where the man pushes the woman down to the ground. Like the deadbeat dad that we know the man is about to become, he bails on the woman and his son.

The viewer watches as the woman has to take on the burden of making ends, something particularly difficult when you’re waiting tables. Bills and eviction notices soon begin to arrive, forcing the mother and son duo to move into a cheap motel.

As the video progresses, we watch as their bond gets stronger through their difficult times, and as time moves on, their situation starts to get better.

We warned you that it was going to be a tearjerker. Watch the music video for “Never There” above.

“Never there” will join previously released tracks “A Death in the Family” and “Out for Blood” on Sum 41’s forthcoming seventh studio album.

Order in Decline is due out July 19 through Hopeless Records. Pre-orders are available for purchase here. All pre-orders will receive instant downloads of “Out for Blood” and “A Death in the Family.”

Order in Decline is the follow-up to 2016’s 13 Voices.

Sum 41 announced the release of their seventh studio album back in April. According to the band, the forthcoming record will be their “heaviest and most aggressive album to date, while also being their most dynamic and raw.”

Later this month, the group will join the Used, Circa Survive, and Thrice on the inaugural Rockstar Energy Drink Disrupt Festival. The 25-stop tour kicks off later this week at the Dos Equis Pavilion in Dallas.

Sum 41 release their first new song in three years, announce new album

After three years of being away, Sum 41 is finally giving fans some new tunes. On Wednesday (April 24), the Canadian band announced plans to release a brand new album later this summer. Titled Order in Decline, the record is due out July 19 through Hopeless Records. Pre-orders for the album are currently available here.

Order in Decline is the follow-up to 2016’s 13 Voices.

According to the band’s press statement, the upcoming record is “undoubtedly Sum 41’s heaviest and most aggressive album to date, while also being their most dynamic and raw.”

“The last thing I wanted to do was write a social or political protest record, and Order in Decline is not that,” vocalist Deryck Whibley explains. “It’s also very hard not to have feelings about everything that’s going on in the world.”

In conjunction with the new record’s announcement, the act also released the music video for its lead single, “Out for Blood.”

Watch the music video for “Out for Blood” above.

Last month, Sum 41 announced plans to embark on an intimate club tour this spring. The No Personal Space tour includes stops in San Antonio, Dallas, Houston, Fort Lauderdale, New Orleans, Nashville, Boston, and more. The forthcoming outing begins on April 27 at the Utah State Fairpark in Salt Lake City and concludes a month later on May 26 at the Bottom Lounge in Chicago.

Following a short break, the group will return to the touring circuit as one of the headliners on the inaugural Rockstar Energy Drink Disrupt Festival. The 25-stop tour begins on June 21 at the Dos Equis Pavilion in Dallas and concludes a month later on July 28 at the Isleta Amphitheater in Albuquerque.

The full track listing for Order in Decline can be found below.


1. “Turning Away”
2. “Out for Blood”
3. “The New Sensation”
4. “A Death in the Family”
5. “Heads Will Roll”
6. “45 (A Matter of Time)”
7. “Never There”
8. “Eat You Alive”
9. “The People Vs…”