Say Anything announce release date, track listing for final album

It’s been over a month since Say Anything frontman Max Bemis broke the news to fans that the band would no longer be his main focus. In his lengthy, ten-page letter, he explains his reason for putting the group on the back burner while also revealing that they will receive one final album before the disbandment becomes somewhat permanent. On Monday (Sept. 24), the California-founded act gave fans a little more information about that upcoming final record.

Previously confirmed to be titled Oliver Appropriate, the album is due out Jan. 25, 2019 via Dine Alone Records. Pre-orders for Oliver Appropriate are currently available on the band’s website. According to Bemis, the act’s eighth studio album is the proper sequel to their sophomore album, 2004’s …Is a Real Boy.

“This record is the story of what would happen to the ‘Real Boy’ many people thought I was. His band did well but then fell off hard,” Bemis writes. “He’d be my age, of course, but he’d still be living in Brooklyn, struggling with financial woes, single and strung out.”

While the official details for the forthcoming record have just been released, the group already treated fans to two songs from the upcoming album; “Daze” and “Pink Snot.” “Daze” can be streamed above while “Pink Snot” can be streamed here.

For fans hoping the band would embark on one final tour before calling it a day, those wishes were dashed after skimming Bemis’ letter.

“There will be no full U.S. tour to support the record or in the near future. I am done being a touring musician as my main profession.”

Bemis’ “Say Anything: A Goodbye Summation” letter can be found here while the official track listing for Oliver Appropriate can be found below.


01. “The Band Fuel”
02. “Daze”
03. “Pink Snot”
04. “Greased”
05. “Ew Jersey”
06. “Mouthbreather”
07. “When I’m Acid”
08. “Captive Audience”
09. “Your Father”
10. “Send You Off”
11. “Fired”
12. “It’s a Process”
13. “The Hardest”
14. “Sediment”