The Strokes stream new song, announce new EP

The week may not be over yet, but it looks like The Strokes are doing their best to make it feel like the weekend. On Thursday (May 26), the New York-based band release a brand new song. During the inaugural episode of his new radio show on Sirius XM, frontman Julian Casablancas premiered a brand new song from the band. The new track is titled “OBLIVIUS” and can currently be streamed on Cult Records’ website here.

In addition to the new song, the band has also announced that they will be releasing a new EP titled FuturePresentPast. “OBLIVIUS” will be joined by two other new tunes titled “Drag Queen” and “Threat of Joy.” According to Consequence of Sound, the band will reportedly stream the other two tracks later today. The FuturePresentPast EP will be released on June 3 through Cult Records, just in time for the band’s performance at New York’s Governors Ball during the weekend of June 3-5.

Pre-orders for the FuturePresentPast EP are currently available on the record label’s website and features a slew of bundles that range from a normal digital download to a bundle that includes the vinyl-version of the EP and a shirt. All orders will include a remixed version of  “OBLIVIUS” by Fab Moretti. The cover art for the new record can be seen below.


The EP is the first batch of new songs from the band since 2013’s lukewarmly received album, Comedown Machine.