The Amity Affliction announce new album with cinematic music video

The Amity Affliction will be armed with a brand new set of tunes this summer when they embark on the final Vans Warped Tour. On Wednesday (June 20), the Australian band announced the release of their sixth studio album. Titled Misery, the new record is due out Aug. 24 through Roadrunner Records. The album was recorded earlier this year in Baltimore with super-producer Matt Squire.

In conjunction with the new album announcement, the band also released the cinematic music video for the record’s lead single, “Ivy (Doomsday).” According to the trio, the newly released music video is  part one of a three-part short film. The clip which was written and co-directed by vocalist Joel Birch, stars the guys as three friends getting vengeance. Watch the almost-eight-minute clip above.

Pre-orders for Misery are currently available on the Amity Affliction’s website. The band is currently offering several pre-order bundles as well as the option to pre-save the new record on DSPs.

Misery is the follow-up to 2016’s This Could Be Heartbreak.

In support of the late August release, the band will embark on the final Vans Warped Tour. The complete tour itinerary can be found here while the track listing for Misery can be seen below.


1. “Ivy (Doomsday)”
2. “Feels Like I’m Dying”
3. “Holier than Heaven”
4. “Misery”
5. “Kick Rocks”
6. “Black Cloud”
7. “D.I.E.”
8. “Drag the Lake”
9. “Beltsville Blues”
10. “Burn Alive”
11. “Nothing Left”
12. “The Gifthorse”

Listen: The Word Alive unleash ‘Misery’

It’s going to be a year since The Word Alive released their last album, but now the band is giving fans something to hold them over until their next studio album. On Thursday (March 9), the Arizona-founded released a surprise new track for their dedicated fan base. The new song is titled “Misery” and can currently be streamed above.

For fans hoping that the new song would mean a brand new album announcement may be on the horizon, they may need to wait a little longer. According to frontman Telle Smith, “Misery” is supposed to be a bridge connecting Dark Matter and the new tunes they are currently in the process of writing. “We wanted to bridge the gap between our newest album, Dark Matter, and the writing process of what will become our fifth studio album,” Smith explained.

“It’s incredible to know the exact direction we will be exploring with our next record before writing even one song. After Warped Tour, it was clear that we had something special with our newer material, especially songs like ‘Trapped,’ ‘Made This Way,’ and ‘Dreamer.’ We wanted to morph those songs into something that would be an extension of those three songs in particular. Heavy, ambient, ominous at times, and much more personal than our previous material.”

While Smith didn’t give any further information on what the status is of those new songs they are writing, it could mean that fans are one step closer to hearing new material. The release of “Misery” comes several months after drummer Luke Holland announced his departure. Holland unveiled the new back in November of 2016, but did tell fans that he would stick with the band until the end of their “Overdose” tour.

Currently, The Word Alive is on tour supporting Asking Alexandria on their European tour.

Watch Gwen Stefani frolic in rundown apartment for ‘Misery’


Following her duet with boyfriend Blake Shelton on the Billboard Music Awards a couple of weeks back, Gwen Stefani is back to release the music video for her latest single. On Tuesday (May 31), the No Doubt frontwoman released the official music video for “Misery,” a three-and-a-half-minute tune. The video finds Stefani rocking some cool outfits which we can only describe as something that the pop star would wear.

The “high fashion” wardrobe is in direct contrast of the location which looks like it takes place in an empty and rundown apartment building. As Stefani moves from location to location inside of the building (rooms, boiler room, parking area), there seems to be a group of three guys following her dancing along as she sings. Check out the complete video for “Misery” below.

“Misery” is the third single off of Stefani’s recently released album, This is What the Truth Feels Like. In support of the new album which was released back in March, Stefani will be hitting the road for the “This is What the Truth Feels Like” tour. The trek will kick off on July 12 at the Xfinity Center in Mansfield, MA and will wrap up on Oct. 15 at Los Angeles’ the Forum. Stefani previously announced that frequent collaborator and friend Eve, will be joining her for the entire tour. The complete list of upcoming stops can be seen here.

Gwen Stefani debuts new song from upcoming album


With a week left until the release of her much-anticipated, third studio album, Gwen Stefani has returned with another new track from it. On Thursday (March 10), the No Doubt frontwoman teased fans about a brand new song titled “Misery.” Less than an hour after the teasing, the song was unleashed to the public. While the name of the song may seem like it may be a somber, depressing track, it’s the opposite.

Very muck like her previous single, “Make Me Like You,” it’s upbeat and not at all what you expect it to be, though it does sound like a Stefani song. Listen to “Misery” below.

During an interview with Entertainment Weekly, the singer admitted to what many gossip publications have speculated since her new record announcement; that the album’s songs are about her new relationship with fellow The Voice judge Blake Shelton. “The record is happening in real-time,” explains Stefani. “I’ve never had a record that’s been about happiness, so that feels really good and different. And I’ve never had records come out while it’s going on.”

“Misery,” “Make Me Like You,” and “Used to Love You” are three of the 12 new tracks to be featured on This is What the Truth Feels Like. The new album is set to be released next Friday, March 18. This is What the Truth Feels Like is Stefani’s long-awaited follow-up to 2006’s The Sweet Escape.