Listen: Atreyu return with two new songs, announce seventh studio album

If you’re a fan of Atreyu, then get ready because the quartet just unveiled a slew of good news. On Friday (Aug. 24), the California-founded group announced the fall time release of their seventh studio album. Titled In Our Wake, the new record is due out Oct. 12 through Search and Destroy Records / Spinefarm. Pre-orders for the new album are currently available here.

In a press statement, singer Alex Varkatzas reveals how the deaths of two fellow musicians influenced the impending album.

“It’s a deep one. We looked up to Chris Cornell and Chester Bennington, and their deaths were fresh during the writing process. It made us think of what we’ll leave in our wake. We have a choice to change the lives of others for the better.”

“The album title In Our Wake comes from the idea that every day we humans have two roads we can go down: Do you choose to inspire, uplift, and enhance each others lives? Or do you prefer to belittle, shit talk, and tear down each other down?,”┬ábassist Porter McKnight explains.

“With each choice made, you leave a ripple that reflects across your community, then onto your city, to your nation, and eventually all across the globe. Who do you leave in your wake?”

In addition to the new album announcement, the five-piece also unleashed two new songs from the upcoming record; “Anger Left Behind” and the record’s title track “In Our Wake.” Watch the music video for “In Our Wake” above while “Anger Left Behind” can be streamed here.

In Our Wake is the follow-up to 2015’s Long Live and finds the group reuniting with Lead Sails Paper Anchor producer John Feldmann. The complete tracklisting for the 12-song record can be seen below.


01. “In Our Wake”
02. “House of Gold”
03. “The Time is Now”
04. “Nothing Will Ever Change”
05. “Blind Deaf & Dumb”
06. “Terrified”
07. “Safety Pin”
08. “Into the Open”
09. “Paper Castle”
10. “No Control”
11. “Anger Left Behind”
12. “Super Hero”