Listen to Nate Ruess Wonder “What This World is Coming To”


It feels like it’s been a while since Nate Ruess released a new song from his impending solo record.

The fun. frontman remedied that problem this weekend when he released a new song titled “What This World Is Coming To.”

The song which also features Beck (yes, that Beck) finds both men singing about the things that are happening in the world and just guessing that this is the outcome. Kind of sad, if you think about it.

Ruess opened up recently in an interview about what it was like to work with the Beck and how he felt like a “mere mortal.”

“Working with, and getting a chance to learn from Beck has been an incredible experience. Not only does he put more studio time in than anyone I know, his back catalog of musical references is unattainable to us mere mortals. I’d let it slide — but he also happens to be a wonderful person and family man to boot. Did I mention his guitar chops? Here’s hoping we get another chance to work together soon. I won’t act like I’m texting while I’m nervously filming him shred.”

Listen to the song below which joins previously released tracks, “Nothing Without Love,” “AhHa,” and “Great Big Storm” on Grand Romantics.

Pre-sales for Grand Romantic have officially hit both iTunes and Amazon. The record is due out on June 16 through Fueled by Ramen.

For now, check out the complete track list for the record.


1) Grand Romantic (Intro)
2) AhHa
3) Nothing Without Love
4) Take It Back
5) You Light My Fire
6) What This World Is Coming To (feat. Beck)
7) Great Big Storm
8) Moment
9) It Only Gets Much Worse
10) Grand Romantic
11) Harsh Light
12) Brightside