‘Dear Evan Hansen’ soundtrack to get deluxe reissue

If you’ve been listening to the Dear Evan Hansen original cast recording nonstop since the award-winning show made its debut on Broadway, then we’ve got some great news for you. On Thursday (Nov. 1), Atlantic Records announced plans to re-release the Grammy-award winning album with a couple of extra treats. The deluxe re-issue of the Dear Evan Hansen (Original Broadway Cast Recording) will include the original 14 tracks as well as six bonus songs.

The additional tunes will include unreleased songs, demos, and acoustic versions of certain tracks all performed by the original and current cast members of the Broadway production. The re-issue will also feature a special version of the show’s signature song, “Waving Through a Window,” performed by Katy Perry.

“On April 29, 2017, I went and saw Dear Evan Hansen on Broadway, and was emotionally transformed forever,” the pop star said in a press release.

“In my own life, I’ve struggled with depression, and like so many, always feeling alone in the battle of wanting to belong. That night, I was particularly struck by the song ‘Waving Through A Window.’ It embodied the mental isolation I sometimes fought. So when my friends Benj Pasek and Justin Paul came to me and asked if I would like to record this song, not only to help launch the national tour, but to continue the conversation on mental health and all its complexities, I jumped right in. I hope this song helps you know that you are not alone, and that I’m waiving back at you.”

The digital version of the deluxe album is due out this Friday, Nov. 2, through Atlantic Records. At the time of this publication, no physical version of the album is available, but Atlantic Records does say that a physical album will come at a later date.

To celebrate the release of the revamped soundtrack, an exclusive digital listening party will be held on Nov. 2 at midnight EST. The party, which will take place over on YouTube, will feature special messages from the cast and creative team as well as commentary on all the new recordings from the show’s masterminds Benj Pasek, Justin Paul, and Alex Lacamoire. As if that wasn’t enough, Perry’s version of “Waving Through a Window” will make its debut during the listening party. Listen to a snippet of the pop star’s version of the track here.

So grab your stripped blue polo shirt, cast, and a dark hoodie and don’t forget to tune in here.

Dear Evan Hansen is currently running at Broadway’s Music Box Theatre while its national tour is underway. Tickets for the show can be found here.

The complete track listing for the Dear Evan Hansen (Original Broadway Cast Recording) – Deluxe Album can be found below.


01. “Anybody Have a Map?” – Rachel Bay Jones & Jennifer Laura Thompson
02.“Waving Through a Window” – Ben Platt & Original Broadway Cast of Dear Evan Hansen
03. “For Forever” – Ben Platt
04. “Sincerely, Me” – Mike Faist, Ben Platt & Will Roland
05. “Requiem” – Laura Dreyfuss, Michael Park & Jennifer Laura Thompson
06. “If I Could Tell Her” – Ben Platt & Laura Dreyfuss
07. “Disappear” – Mike Faist, Ben Platt, Kristolyn Lloyd, Will Roland, Jennifer Laura Thompson & Original Broadway Cast of Dear Evan Hansen
08. “You Will Be Found” – Ben Platt, Kristolyn Lloyd, Will Roland, Laura Dreyfuss & Original Broadway Cast of Dear Evan Hansen
09. “To Break in a Glove” – Michael Park & Ben Platt
10. “Only Us” – Laura Dreyfuss & Ben Platt
11.“Good for You” – Rachel Bay Jones, Kristolyn Lloyd, Will Roland & Ben Platt
12. “Words Fail” – Ben Platt
13. “So Big/So Small” – Rachel Bay Jones
14. “Finale” – Ben Platt & Original Broadway Cast of Dear Evan Hansen
15. “Obvious (Bonus Track)” – Taylor Trensch
16. “Hiding in Your Hands (Bonus Track)” – Mallory Bechtel
17. “Part of Me (Bonus Track)” – Dear Evan Hansen August 2018 Broadway Cast
18. “In the Bedroom Down the Hall (Demo)” – Rachel Bay Jones & Jennifer Laura Thompson
19. “Disappear (Acoustic)” – Taylor Trensch & Alex Boniello
20. “Waving Through a Window (Bonus Track)” – Katy Perry

Lin-Manuel Miranda and Ben Platt unleash March for Our Lives ‘Hamildrop’

Every single month without fail (since December 2017 that is), Hamilton head honcho Lin-Manuel Miranda has been releasing new versions of his songs from the hit Broadway show. On Monday (March 19), Miranda released his monthly Hamildrop to patiently awaiting fans, but this time, he decided to keep it all in the Broadway family. For March, Miranda teamed up with former Dear Evan Hansen star Ben Platt to give the world a mash-up featuring a song from each Broadway musical.

The song, “Found/Tonight” fuses together “The Story of Tonight” from Hamilton and “You Will Be Found” from Dear Evan Hansen. The accompanying black-and-white music video for the song was filmed while both Miranda and Platt were recording the track at Atlantic Records’ studios. In the room (where it happened), fans can spot Hamilton director Thomas Kail as well as Justin Paul, one-half of the Dear Evan Hansen songwriting team Pasek and Paul, watching the show unfold.

According to Miranda, the song is dedicated to the hardworking student organizers who have worked tirelessly on this upcoming weekend’s March for Our Lives event. The march – which will take place this Saturday, March 23 – will find hundreds of thousands of men, women, and children gathering in cities across America, and the world, to call for an end to gun violence.

“In the wake of Parkland, I was awestruck by the strength and leadership of the students and their ability to speak truth to power,” Miranda said in a press statement.

He continues: “In the midst of their grief, they mobilized the youth of our nation and created a movement. This is their moment. Not just for themselves, but for all of us. This song is my way of helping to raise funds and awareness for their efforts, and to say thank you, and that we are with you so let’s keep fighting, together.”

Platt adds: “When Lin called me to be a part of this mashup, I couldn’t say no. Better gun control is something that all Americans should be passionate about. These students are paving the way for future generations and it’s so inspiring to see young people standing up for what is probably the most important cause right now in this country, and demanding action. I hope that this song can play some small part in bringing about real change.”

Watch the music video for “Found/Tonight” above. The song is currently available for download here with a portion of proceeds going to March for Our Lives.