Brand New Officially Release Previously Leaked Demos


It’s been a bumpy year for fans of Brand New. First the band released a brand new song (“Mene”) and even hinted at a new record. Then, during a show, frontman Jesse Lacey spoke to the audience about the future of the band, claiming that “this won’t last much longer, we can’t do this forever.” The only upside from that being that he promised fans the next time they would perform, there would be a new record behind it.

Of course, after all the mixed signals, fans are sitting back, scratching their heads wondering what’s going on. During that time, the band went behind everyone’s back and officially released a set of demos from almost a decade ago. The tracks had been leaked back in 2006, but Brand New never did anything about it. Instead, they decided to wait almost ten years to give fans the official version of the demos.

The collection has been named Brand New – Leaked Demos 2006 and will come in cassette format. The cassette formatting of music has quickly become a popular trend over the last month or so. To purchase the collection, head on over to Procrastinate! Those who pre-order the cassette, will also get a digital download of the non-album. Check out the album cover and track listing  or the release below. If you look close enough at the track list, you may recognize a song that made it onto the band’s 2006 release, The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me.


1. “Good Man”
2. “1996”
3. “Brother’s Song”
4. “Missing You”
5. “Nobody Moves”
6. “Luca”
7. “Fork and Knife”
8. “Yeah (Sowing Season)”
9. “Battalions”