Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross to compose score for Showtime docu-series

Nine Inch Nails’ Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross can now add “scoring documentaries” to their lengthy resume. On Monday (April 30), it was announced that the duo will compose the score for Showtime’s upcoming four-part documentary series, The Fourth Estate. The docu-series chronicles the inner workings of The New York Times during President Donald Trump’s first year in office. The series will premiere on Showtime on May 27 at 7:30 p.m. EST. The trailer for the upcoming documentary can be seen above.

The Fourth Estate will join Reznor and Ross’ lengthy list of scored films including The Social Network – which earned them the Oscar for Best Original Score – The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Patriots Day, and The Vietnam War among others.

As for Nine Inch Nails, which Ross recently joined, the group has a busy schedule ahead of them. The band will reportedly release the final installation of their current trilogy sometime this year, though the name and its official release date have not been given. Nine Inch Nails released the first part, Not the Actual Events, in late 2016 and the second part, Add Violence, in the summer of 2017.

In addition to that, the Ohio-founded act have a lengthy music festival tour slated for the summer months. Nine Inch Nail’s music festival world tour will include performances at London’s Meltdown Festival, Prague’s Aerodrome Festival, Madrid’s Mad Cool Festival, and Japan’s Summer Sonic Festival. Recently, the band was confirmed as one of the headliners for the sixth annual River City Rockfest. River City Rockfest will take place on Sept. 22 at the AT&T Center Grounds in San Antonio. To see Nine Inch Nails’ full tour itinerary, head on over to their website.

Stream the ‘Gone Girl’ Soundtrack


Just a few days after dropping a total of four new tracks from the Gone Girl Soundtrack, Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross have given NPR the full 24-track record for an exclusive premiere.

Listen to the full soundtrack here.

The hype surrounding the new Ben Affleck-starring film Gone Girl has been running rapid since casting had been revealed.

Probably one of the most anticipated films of the Fall film season, the film is based off of former Entertainment Weekly writer Gillian Flynn’s novel of the same name.  If you were to look up the synopsis of the book (and of course the film), it would be described as “thriller” and like with all suspenseful thrillers, an equally thrilling and suspenseful soundtrack comes along.

And that’s where Nine Inch Nail’s Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross come in.

Having had a good working relationship with director David Fincher on their past projects (The Social Network, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo), the musicians have come together to compose another soundtrack for the famed director’s film.

Yesterday, Reznor released a snippet of a new song (“The Way He Looks At Me”), but that wasn’t enough we assume because today, three more tracks from the soundtrack were released online. Earlier in the day, Reznor took to Twitter to post a link to the official Nine Inch Nails website where a SoundCloud playlist is currently posted with the four tracks.

Instead of heading over to the NIN site, you can listen to the tracks here.

Gone Girl, the movie, is set to be released on Friday, Oct. 3 while the soundtrack’s release date is still unknown.

Pre-orders are currently up for sale on Nine Inch Nail’s website. There are three options, a digital download of the album, a digital download and CD of the record, and a digital download and vinyl of the record.