‘American Idiot’ Documentary to Hit Theaters in October

September marks 11 years since Green Day released one of their career-best albums, American Idiot. In honor of that, a documentary which followed the band while they made the record will be released in October. Titled, Heart Like a Hand Grenade, a direct lyric from “She’s a Rebel,” the documentary follows the group for nine months as they hit the recording studio to compose songs such as “Boulevard of Broken Dream,” “Holiday” and of course “American Idiot.”

The film will be released on Oct. 15 and was directed by John Roecker, a friend of the band who spent the nine months with them as they recorded the rock opera. In a message to fans on Green Day’s website, Roecker reveals how the idea came to fruition and not to expect any behind-the-scenes drama or fighting. Also included in the “rock doc” is a never-before-seen Green Day concert which shows the band performing American Idiot, in full, at an intimate concert venue.

“After the recording was finished they booked a small theatre and performed the album in its entirety, which is included in the film (Fun fact! This was 11 years ago folks and the camera phone was not invented so this is the only way you can see this legendary concert!) This movie is like a fly-on-the-wall art house piece. It is the first time Green Day allowed someone into the studio to film them,” Roecker wrote in his message.

To read Roecker’s complete director’s statement click here.


American Idiot was released in September of 2004 and has sold over 15 million copies worldwide. But if that wasn’t enough, it’s also a Grammy Award winning record which led to it transitioning from the radio to the stage. The stage show has earned two Tony Awards and is currently out on tour. Not too shabby for a record that was made “on the fly” because the group’s original record has been stolen from the recording studio.

Listen to the ‘American Idiot’ Tribute Album Stream


Green Day’s American Idiot officially turns ten this year, alongside many of the album that helped some of us get through those awkward, difficult and often time depressing high school days. In honor of the album’s anniversary, Kerrang! revealed plans to have a tribute album released featuring artists such as You Me At Six, New Politics, 5 Seconds of Summer and many more covering the tracks from the hit album.

The full stream can be heard below as well as which band covered which song from the amazing 2004 record. The stream also features two bonus tracks, a cover of “Welcome to Paradise” and “Basket Case.” Kind of upset “Longview” wasn’t included, but beggars can’t be chooser, we assume.


1. American Idiot – 5 Seconds Of Summer
2. Jesus Of Suburbia – Rise To Remain
3. Holiday – The Blackout
4. Boulevard Of Broken Dreams – Neck Deep
5. Are We The Waiting – You Me At Six
6. St. Jimmy – Bowling For Soup
7. Give Me Novacaine – Escape The Fate
8. She’s A Rebel – Falling In Reverse
9. Extraordinary Girl – Frank Iero
10. Letterbomb – LostAlone
11. Wake Me Up When September Ends – The Defiled
12. Homecoming – Lonely The Brave
13. Whatsername – New Politics
Bonus tracks
14. Welcome To Paradise – State Champs
15. Basket Case – The Swellers

Watch Drummer Play Every Green Day Song

Green Day

Ever think that you would be able to hear Green Day’s complete discography in five minutes? Well, considering that some of the songs from American Idiot easily run up to ten minutes, that would be kind of difficult.

Enter YouTube sensation Kye Smith.

Smith had taken on the challenge of playing drums on every Green Day song in the time that it takes you to heat up a Hot Pocket for the Drum Chronology series.

Check out the video below as he hammers out five second snippets of each of the tracks from the California band’s catalog from albums like Dookie, Nimrod, Warning, American Idiot and more all in chronological order.

Billie Joe Armstrong: Movie Star?

2012 iHeartRadio Music Festival - Day 1 - Show

Ever think you’d see the day when the frontman of a punk rock band would go from the stage to the theater screen Well, honestly, it has been a trend that many musicians are doing, but did you ever picture that Green Day frontman, Billie Joe Armstrong would follow in suit?

Well, today it was indeed confirmed that Armstrong is set to hit the big screen in an indie film titled, Like Sunday, Like Rain. The film, which will star Gossip Girl’s Leighton Meester, tells the story of a struggling musician who becomes the guardian of a 12-year-old music prodigy. In a surprising move, Armstrong will actually be taking on the role of Meester’s boyfriend.

Armstrong though, is not new to being featured in films; he’s appeared in several movies in small parts such as Penny Marshall’s Riding in Cars With Boys and Judd Apatow’s This Is 40. This December, he’ll be adding another cameo to his long list, appearing in Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues.

Even after having a full meltdown last year during the annual iHeartRadio Concert in Las Vegas, it looks like Armstrong cleaned up his act during his stint in rehab. This year, he will be releasing two different documentaries. The first one will chronicle Green Day’s efforts into making 2012’s ¡Uno!, ¡Dos!, ¡Tré! album trilogy; fittingly enough, the documentary will be titled, ¡Cuatro! .

The second documentary will focus on what it took to turn the band’s 2004 hit album, American Idiot, into the Broadway show, Broadway Idiot which is due out sometime in October.

Now who said the punks can’t be movie star?

Green Day Documentary to Premiere at SXSW

Green Day

Green Day will be premiering their documentary, Broadway Idiot at the South By Southwest Film Festival in March. The documentary follows singer, Billie Joe Armstrong, as he makes his cross over into Broadway musicals and turns the band’s 2004 hit album, American Idiot into a stage adaptation.

Broadway Idiot is not the only Green Day documentary to debut at the festival; the band will also be debuting  ¡Cuatro! which follows the band as they make their recent trilogy series¡Uno!,¡Dos! and ¡Tré!

Green Day will be heading back on tour to make up for the cancelled tour dates last year after Armstrong had a meltdown on stage at the iHeartRadio festival which resulted in him heading to rehab. To see their full list of tour dates, head on over to their website.