Christina Aguilera announces ‘Liberation’ with new song

Christina Aguilera is back and ready to begin a new era in her career. On Thursday (May 3), the pop star announced that her eighth studio album will see a release time frame of early summer. The new record will be titled Liberation and will be released on June 15 through her longtime home of RCA Records.

The singer’s latest effort will feature a total of 15 news tracks including her recently released first single, “Accelerate.” Just like her previously album, Lotus, Aguilera is the executive producer on the album.

In conjunction with the new album announcement, Aguilera unveiled the music video for Liberation first single. The new tune features rappers Ty Dolla $ign and 2 Chainz. Watch the Zoey Grossman-directed clip above.

Pre-orders for Liberation are currently available on Aguilera’s website. In addition to Ty Dolla $ign and 2 Chainz, the new album will also feature a duet with Demi Lovato (“Fall in Love”) and vocal contributions from Jamaican dancehall singers Keida & Shenseea (“Right Moves.”).

Liberation will be the long-awaited follow-up to Aguilera’s 2012 release, Lotus. Though Lotus was Aguilera’s least successful record both in sales and reviews, it still managed to debut at the number seven spot on the Billboard 200 chart and sell a total of 73,408 units in its first week.

For now, the complete track listing for Liberation can be found below.


01. “Liberation”

02. “Searching for Maria”

03. “Maria”

04. “Sick of Sittin'”

05. “Dreamers”

06. “Fall in Line” (featuring Demi Lovato)

07. “Right Moves” (Keida & Shenseea)

08. “Like I Do”

09. “Deserve”

10. “Twice”

11. “I Don’t Need it Anymore (Interlude)”

12. “Accelerate” (featuring Ty Dolla $ign and 2 Chainz)

13. “Pipe”

14. “Masochist”

15. “Unless It’s With You”