Rock and Roll Hall of Fame announces its 2020 nominees


Ladies and gentlemen. Boys and girls. Music lovers of all ages, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame nominees are finally in!

On Tuesday (Oct. 15), the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame announced the lengthy list of nominees for the 2020 class. As with past years, the musicians on the roster come from various music genres, which may lead to a debate or two among fans (there’s already some online “conversations,” but when doesn’t that happen?).

Motörhead, Depeche Mode, Soundgarden, Judas Priest, Nine Inch Nails, Pat Benatar, Whitney Houston, the Dave Matthews Band, and The Notorious B.I.G. are just some of the potential inductees.

The class of 2020 also marks the first time that the majority of the candidates are first-time nominees.

The first-time nominees include the Dave Matthews Band, the Doobie Brothers, Motörhead, the Notorious B.I.G., Pat Benatar, Soundgarden, T. Rex, Thin Lizzy, and Whitney Houston.

This will be the sixth time Kraftwerk has been nominated, the fifth time for MC5, the fourth for Rufus featuring Chaka Khan, the third for Nine Inch Nails and Depeche Mode, and the second for Judas Priest and Todd Rundgren.

All-in-all, a very diverse lineup.

It was reported that artists such as Aaliyah, Weezer, blink-182, and Daft Punk were eligible but were not nominated.

For an artist to be eligible to be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, their first recording must have been released at least 25 years ago.

While a lot of the voting power sits with industry insiders, fans are going to get a chance to put their two cents in.

Through Jan. 10, fans can go to Google and search “Vote Rock Hall 2020” or any nominee name plus “vote” to cast a ballot with Google. They can also head on over to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame’s website or the museum in Cleveland to chime in.

The top five artists chosen by the public will make up the “fans’ ballot” joining the industry insiders’ votes.

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame 2020 Induction Ceremony will take place at Public Auditorium in Cleveland on May 2, 2020. The full list of nominees can be found below.


Pat Benatar
Dave Matthews Band
Depeche Mode
The Doobie Brothers
Whitney Houston
Judas Priest
Nine Inch Nails
The Notorious B.I.G.
Rufus featuring Chaka Khan
Todd Rundgren
Thin Lizzy

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.