Avril Lavigne drops new single ‘Tell Me It’s Over,’ confirms new album

Months after surprising fans with a brand new song and talks of a brand new album, Avril Lavigne has finally confirmed that her new record will be out in early 2019. On Thursday (Dec. 13), the Canadian pop star unveiled the details of her sixth studio album including its title, release date, and track listing. Titled Head Above Water, like the record’s lead single, the singer’s forthcoming studio effort id due out Feb. 15.

Head Above Water is the long-awaited follow-up to Lavigne’s 2013 self-titled. Pre-orders for Head Above Water are currently available here.

The 12-track record will feature title track “Head Above Water.” In conjunction with the new album announcement, the singer released the album’s second single; a track titled “Tell Me It’s Over.”

“‘Tell Me It’s Over’ is an anthem about being strong, finally putting your foot down and closing the door on a relationship that you know is wrong after time and time again of falling for their games,” said Lavigne in a press statement about the soulful, R&B-tinged tune.

“If someone doesn’t treat you the way you deserve to be treated, don’t put up with it.”

According to Lavigne, the new song was highly inspired by some classic soulful women of music including Billie Holiday, Ella Fitzgerald, Aretha Franklin and Etta James and that she wanted to write a song that was classic and timeless.

Watch the Erica Silverman-directed music video for “Tell Me It’s Over” above while the complete track listing for the upcoming release can be seen below.


01. “Head Above Water”
02. “Birdie”
03. “I Fell In Love With The Devil”
04. “Tell Me It’s Over”
05. “Dumb Blonde”
06. “It Was In Me”
07. “Souvenir”
08. “Crush”
09. “Goddess”
10. “Bigger Wow”
11. “Love Me Insane”
12. “Warrior”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.