Listen: Smashing Pumpkins return with new song ‘Solara’

Months after announcing a partial original lineup reunion, the Smashing Pumpkins have unleashed the quasi-reunion’s first new song in 18 years. On Friday (June 8), the Chicago-founded group premiered their new tune, “Solara.” Listen to the brand new song above which clearly sounds like it could find a home among the group’s early records.

Per a statement from the Smashing Pumpkins, “Solara” was recorded at Shangri La Studios in Malibu, California with super-producer Rick Rubin and the band’s longtime guitarist Jeff Schroeder. While the Smashing Pumpkins have yet to confirm whether this song will be featured on their new, in-the-works album, it’s safe to assume that the new tune will be included on its track listing.

Back in February, frontman Billy Corgan confirmed that three-fourths of the original lineup —Corgan, guitarist James Iha, and drummer Jimmy Chamberlin— had reunited and were about to begin recording eight new songs with Rubin.

Hopes for a full reunion were squashed earlier this year when former bassist D’arcy Wretzky claimed that Corgan had purposely left her out of the gathering. While Wretzky spoke publicly about her issues and Corgan, the band took the press statement route and responded with “Ms. Wretzky has repeatedly been invited out to play with the group, participate in demo sessions, or at the very least, meet face-to-face, and in each and every instance she always deferred.”

In support of their reunion, and new music, the Smashing Pumpkins will hit the road this summer for their “Shiny and Oh So Bright” tour. The “Shiny and Oh So Bright” tour will begin on July 12 at the Gila River Arena in Glendale, Arizona and conclude almost two months later on Sept. 7 at the Ford Idaho Center in Nampa, Idaho.

The trek will find the band performing at arenas in major cities across the continent including Dallas, Miami, Atlanta, Montreal, New York, Boston, and of course the band’s hometown of Chicago.

The tour’s set list will reportedly include songs from the band’s first five albums; 1991’s Gish, 1993’s Siamese Dream, 1995’s Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness, 1998’s Adore, and 2000’s Machina/The Machines of God.

The complete itinerary for the “Shiny and Oh So Bright” tour can be found here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.