Garbage announce 20th anniversary reissue of ‘Version 2.0’

Garbage may be in the process of beginning work on their new studio album, but now fans may have something to hold them over until then. On Wednesday (March 28), the group unveiled plans to reissue their breakout sophomore album, Version 2.0. The reissue will come in two different forms; standard and deluxe.

The standard version of the record will include remastered versions of the album’s track on either CD or on two, orange vinyls. The deluxe version of the reissue will also include remastered version of the album’s tracks as well as ten B-side bonus tracks, a poster, and stickers.Like with the standard version, the deluxe edition will be available on CD or vinyl. Both versions will also be available as digital downloads as well.

The Version 2.0 reissue is set to be released on June 22. Pre-orders can be found here.

The reissue of Version 2.0 will be in celebration of the album’s 20th anniversary. The record was released on May 11, 1998 and sprouted several of Garbage’s biggest hits including “Push It,” “I Think I’m Paranoid,” and “When I Grow Up.” It went on to win favorable ratings and managed to peak at the number 13 position on the Billboard 200 chart.

Accompanying the reissue announcement, Garbage unleashed one of the B-side tracks, “Lick the Pavement.” Listen to the song above.

Earlier this year, Garbage frontwoman Shirley Manson revealed in a radio interview that the group would be hitting the recording studio in April to begin recording the follow-up to 2016’s Strange Little Birds.

“We’re going to live together… we haven’t done this since the first record. We’re all going to live under one roof,” Manson explained to Louisville’s 91.9 WFPK DJ Kyle Meredith.

She adds: “We’re going to record during the day, then go out to dinner, and then we’ll come back and have band movie sessions like we did back in the day.”

For now, check out the complete track listing for the upcoming reissue below.


Disc 1 – Version 2.0 remaster
01. “Temptation Waits”
02. “I Think I’m Paranoid”
03. “When I Grow Up”
04. “Medication”
05. “Special”
06. “Hammering in My Head”
07. “Push It”
08. “The Trick is to Keep Breathing”
09. “Dumb”
10. “Sleep Together”
11. “Wicked Ways”
12. “You Look So Fine”

Disc 2 – Bonus tracks
01. “Can’t Seem to Make You Mine”
02. “13x Forever”
03. “Deadwood”
04. “Get Busy with the Fizzy”
05. “Soldier Through This”
06. “Thirteen”
07. “Lick the Pavement”
08. “Medication (Acoustic)”
09. “Tornado”
10. “Afterglow”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.