Avenged Sevenfold announces ‘surprise’ new album

Avenged Sevenfold wanted all information concerning their new album to be kept a secret, and as it turns out, they managed to do just that. Following weeks of teasing and cryptic messages, real information about the upcoming release has been unveiled. On Thursday (Oct. 27), it was reported that not only is Avenged Sevenfold’s new album not titled Voltaic Oceans, but it will not see an early-December release date. Rather, the new record will be titled The Stage, just like the lead single, and is set to hit stores on Friday, Oct. 28.

The previously-reported information about the new album came last month when WWE superstar and Fozzy frontman Chris Jericho posted an image on Instagram. The post contained the band’s Death-Bat logo, the title Voltaic Oceans, and the date 12/09/16. Quickly after he posted the image, Jericho took it down which further fueled speculations that he leaked important information. At the time, there was no reason to doubt Jericho or be skeptical that he was playing a role in promoting the new album. Most fans of the band are aware of his close friendship with the members of Avenged Sevenfold, especially frontman M. Shadows, so there was no reason to think otherwise.

Now, it looks like the joke was on the fan base who was eagerly awaiting any kind of information from the five-piece about the new record. In addition to the new album name and release date’s unveiling, the track list has also been revealed. Even though the information was supposed to be embargoed until Friday, Amazon’s Canadian website had published the 11-song track listing. At the time of this story being written, Amazon removed the track listing and posted that it is “currently available.” But while that has been taken down, it appears that someone has already received the new album. According to Loudwire, someone on Twitter posted images of the physical copy of the record.

While the band has formally to confirm all the new information, one thing fans can look forward to is their massive live stream due to take place tonight at 8:30 PST. The event will be streamed on Avenged Sevenfold’s website and can be enjoyed in 3D, 360-degrees, and Virtual Reality. During the event, the group will reportedly answer all questions concerning the new album.

The Stage will be the long-awaited follow-up to the band’s 2013 album, Hail to the King. This will also mark the band’s first album to feature former Bad Religion drummer Brooks Wackerman. The reported track listing for The Stage can be seen below.


01. “The Stage” (8:32)
02. “Paradigm” (4:19)
03. “Sunny Disposition” (6:41)
04. “God Damn” (3:42)
05. “Creating God” (5:35)
06. “Angels” (5:41)
07. “Simulation” (5:31)
08. “Higher” (6:29)
09. “Roman Sky” (5:00)
10. “Fermi Paradox” (6:31)
11. “Exist” (15:39)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.