The Hotelier stream “Piano Player”


It’s been two years since The Hotelier released their sophomore album, Home, Like Noplace Is There which earned them a lot of accolades. Recently, the Massachusetts-based band announced they would be releasing a brand new album in the spring; the follow-up to the 2014 release. Now, we have gotten the official first single from the impending record, though when the new album announcement was made, the group released a song title “Goodness Pt. 1.”

On Tuesday (March 22), the Hotelier premiered “Piano Player.” The six-minute track’s official music video can be seen below.

In a press release, the group discuss how they have progressed throughout all their albums, eventually ending with Goodness. “It is not enough to say that The Hotelier have grown older, or wiser, or more of anything. We can trace a progression, if we like, from the explosive empowerment of It Never Goes Out to the ashen disillusionment of Home, Like Noplace Is There,” they write. “We can follow an awakening of youth in suburbia attempting to learn what is right, and what is ours, and what is possible and impossible, and maybe we can’t save each other like we thought we once could. We’re awake and we’re tired and we want love in our lives again. And so we find ourselves now in Goodness, in the woods outside of the suburbs, trying to re-learn that love.”

Goodness is set to be released on May 27 through Tiny Engines and will feature 13 new tracks. The complete track listing can be seen below, though “Goodness Pt. 1” will not be featured on the upcoming album.


01. “N 43° 59′ 38.927″ W 71° 23′ 45.27””
02. “Goodness Pt. 2”
03. “Piano Player”
04. “N 43° 33′ 55.676″ W 72° 45′ 11.914″”
05. “Two Deliverances”
06. “Settle the Scar”
07. “Opening Mail for My Grandmother”
08. “N 42° 6′ 3.001″ W 71° 55′ 3.295″”
09. “Soft Animal”
10. “Sun”
11. “You in This Light”
12. “Fear of Good”
13. “End of Reel”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.