Panic! at the Disco Go Frank Sinatra in “Death of Bachelor”

While the most of us were getting ready for Father Christmas’ arrival, Panic! at the Disco were giving their fans a little bit of a pre-Christmas gift. On Thursday evening (Dec. 24), the Las Vegas-based band released a brand new music video just time for the major holiday. The newly released clip is for the title track off of their impending new record, Death of a Bachelor.

The music video is shot in black-and-white and stars frontman Brendon Urie, though at this point we’re sure that he is the band. The clip begins with Urie, sitting alone at a table at a jazz club (the Monte Cristo if you pay close attention to the stage). As he sits there, he plays with a lighter and drinks his whiskey before heading to the stage.

If the opening scene screams “Frank Sinatra” to you, then you might be on to something. In a past interview about the new record, Urie had said that the album would have some Sinatra influences and even made a direct reference to the opening scene of the video. “I would have loved to see [Frank] Sinatra in the late ’50s, early ’60s — like in the Sands in Vegas, just chain-smoking, drinking whiskey.” He got it.

In addition to the debut of the video, Urie also wrote a letter on the band’s website thanking them for the support and revealing that this was released now as a way to hold the fans over until mid-January. He also add a couple of “shameless plugs” for the new record, but what better time to do so than a few weeks before the album is released. Read Urie’s complete letter below.

“Hello, beautifuls. It’s me, Brendon.

I wanna tell you that I love you.

Right now, I’m sitting at my piano. The same place that I wrote a lot of my new album “Death Of A Bachelor” (out January 15th on the internet or anywhere CDs are sold if you’re someone who leaves their house; ::end of shameless plug::). And, actually, I’m sitting where I wrote the song of the same name. Holiday decorations at my back. Fire burning low. ‘A Muppet Christmas Carol’ playing in the background.

Maybe it’s the holiday spirit or maybe it’s this Disney movie, but I just wanted to tell you how much I appreciate you and can’t wait to show you what I’ve been working on.

So here’s a video I shot for the song “Death Of A Bachelor”. Something to hold you over until the album comes out (again, it comes out January 15th, just in case you were wondering or you just forgot).

Anyway, I hope your holiday break is awesome and that you can deal with your family’s awkwardness with grace and patience. I love and appreciate you. Happy new year!

Brendon Urie

Panic! At The Disco”

Death of a Bachelor is Panic! at the Disco’s fifth studio album. The record is scheduled to be released on Jan. 15, 2016 through DCD2. Death of a Bachelor is the follow-up to 2013’s Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die.

Leave a Reply

