Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Announces Class of 2016

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has finally unveiled their class of 2016. On Thursday (Dec. 17), the iconic museum revealed those artists who will be inducted next spring. Chicago, Deep Purple, NWA, Cheap Trick, and Steve Miller have been chose to receive the honor.

Back in October, it was revealed that acts like Nine Inch Nails, The Smiths, Janet Jackson, The Cars, Chic, and Yes were some of the artists who had made it onto the ballot of nominees. But with the revelations, it appears they will have to wait another year to be put back on the ballot. The official induction ceremony will take place on April 8, 2016 at Brooklyn’s Barclays Center. Like previous years, the induction ceremony will be broadcast on HBO later on in the spring.

In a sad twist, it looks like Chic, once again, has been snubbed for induction. this year marks the tenth year that the group has been passed over for a slot at the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

In order to be eligible for the Hall of Fame, a nominee’s first recording (or debut album) must have been released at least 25 years ago. This year, fans were offered an opportunity to vote, and a collective “fan ballot” was added to the over 800 ballots from artists, historians, and music industry members.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.