Lamb of God Release “Embers” Featuring Deftones’ Chino Moreno

image

Lamb of God are giving their fans something good to start off their weekend with; a brand new song.

Releasing the fifth single off their upcoming new album, VII: Sturm und Drang, the band have unveiled another new track from it, a song titled “Embers.” Unlike the previous songs that have been released, “Embers” features a special guest on the track; Deftones’ Chino Moreno.

While speaking with Rolling Stone about the new song, frontman Randy Blythe had the following to say about how the song came together and why they decided on Moreno for the vocal contribution.

“I wrote all of Chino [Moreno]‘s lyrics and they deal with how loss affects interpersonal relationships, like in a family dynamic,” begins Blythe.

“If a family member dies, that can really twist things up. I used a sort of ‘oceanic’ vibe in the lyrics. I’m talking about ‘I’ve been staring at her laying still for so long,’ and I’m talking about the ocean at that point. The ocean is a metaphor for life.”

“When the band wrote the music to that one, there were two different endings,” continues Blythe.

“In one, it was ‘Lamb of God,’ like, boring, we’ve done it a million times. And then Mark wrote this other beautiful, swelling thing, and I heard it when I was still down at the beach writing my book and listening to it. I’m a huge Deftones fan, and I could hear Chino’s vocals on it. One day, during the pre-production I come in and Mark and Josh [Wilbur, producer] are sitting there and they’re like, ‘What do you think about Chino doing vocals?’ I’m like, ‘Yes!’ Chino came and he sang me the melody he had in his mind, sort of nonsense words like how we singers do. So I took some fragments I had and made it fit. He crushed it. He’s Chino. There’s no one that sounds like him.”

Check out “Embers” below.

Lamb of God will be heading out on tour alongside Slipknot, Motionless in White, and Bullet for My Valentine beginning next Friday, July 24, at the Coral Sky Amphitheater in West Palm Beach (we’ll be at that show). In a cool twist thanks to this whole “global music release day,” the tour will begin on the same exact date that VII: Sturm und Drang will be released.

Pre-orders for the impending album is still available on the band’s website.

Leave a Reply

