Panic! at the Disco Get Trippy in “Hallelujah” Video

It’s been several months since Panic! at the Disco debuted their new song, “Hallelujah,” but now the group is back with the official music video for said track.

The video, which pays homage to the video game, Monument Valley, finds frontman Brendon Urie playing two different characters in the story; the priest and the sinner.

When asked about the concept behind the music video by Mashable, who exclusively premiered the video, Urie explained, “when I’m sitting in my confessional, basically, I’m playing two different characters.”

“I’m playing the sinner, and I’m playing the priest. As the priest, I’m trying to convince myself that it’s all okay, that I’ll absolve you of your sins and try to comfort you, and the sinner just isn’t having it. In the sinner’s mind, there’s this puzzle going on — I’m chasing this girl through this story that I’ve woven for myself and I can’t seem to break the puzzle. I’m trying to defeat it in order to have some kind of catharsis.”

Watch the trippy video below.

“Hallelujah” marks the first song to be released without longtime drummer, and P!ATD founding member, Spencer Smith. Back in April, the drummer announced that he would not return to the band following his stint in rehab, leaving Urie as the sole original member of the Las Vegas group.

Instead of stewing on the departure, Urie went back into the studio to start working on some new music.

“Right after we had the talk about what [Smith] wanted to do, and after he had released his statement to the fans, I was like, ‘Okay, I’m jumping back in. I still want to make this [upcoming] album as soon as possible.’ And he was 100% behind that. But he didn’t have anything to do with this album coming out, so it really is a departure,” Urie explained to the publication.

“Hallelujah” was released several weeks after Smith’s letter to fans, but before that, Urie had revealed plans to have a new album out by the end of 2015. Now, he has confirmed that the band is aiming to have the new record out by late-October.

The new record, which still does not have a name because it’s still being worked on, will be the follow-up to 2013’s Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die!.

Leave a Reply

