“The Ground Walks” in Modest Mouse’s New Song

If you are one of the many Modest Mouse fans that were bummed when the band announced they would be pushing back the release of their new album by two weeks, then don’t be because they have just released another new song from Strangers to Ourselves.

In today’s edition of “new tracks,” the group have released a new song titled “The Ground Walks, With Time in a Box” which can be heard below. Spoiler, it doesn’t sound anything like the other tracks that have previously been released and we kind of want to blast this song in our car.

“The Ground Walks, With Time in a Box” is the fourth track that has been released from the Washington state band’s sixth studio album. “Lampshades on Fire,” “Coyotes,” and “The Best Room” join the new song on the record due out on March 17 instead of its original release date of March 3.

If you haven’t seen it yet, you can check out the full track list for the new album below and keep in mind they will be performing on the Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon on March 17.


1. “Strangers to Ourselves”
2. “Lampshades on Fire”
3. “Shit in Your Cut”
4. “Pistol (A. Cunanan, Miami, FL. 1996)”
5. “Ansel”
6. “The Ground Walks, with Time in a Box”
7. “Coyotes”
8. “Pups to Dust”
9. “Sugar Boats”
10. “Wicked Campaign”
11. “Be Brave”
12. “God is an Indian and You’re an Asshole”
13. “The Tortoise and the Tourist”
14. “The Best Room”
15. “Of Course We Know”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.