American Music Awards Announced Performers


The American Music Awards already announced the nominees for this year’s award show earlier this month, as well as the identity of this year’s host; once again Pitbull will hold down the fort as the MC of the evening, but the performers were left out.

Dick Clark Productions, who produce the award show, have revealed that Mary J. Blige as well as newcomers 5 Seconds of Summer and Sam Smith will take the stage at this year’s event due to take place next month.

All three recently added performers are also nominated for awards this year. Mary J. Blige is nominated in the “Favorite Female Artists- Soul/R&B” category while  Smith and the boys of 5SOS, both will go head to head in the “New Artists of the Year Award presented by Kohls” category.

Previously, Charli XCX was confirmed to perform at the AMAs when the initial nomination announcement was made a few weeks back. The British singer is also nominated for an award for her contribution on Iggy Azalea’s Summer staple, “Fancy.” Her breakout song “Boom Clap” was featured on The Fault in Our Stars soundtrack which also earned a nomination for “Top Soundtrack” though its got tough competition from the Frozen Soundtrack and Guardians of the Galaxy’s Awesome Mix.

The American Music Award will take place on Nov. 23 at the Nokia Theater in Los Angeles while the show will be broadcast live on ABC.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.