Stream Karen O.’s ‘Crush Songs’


Karen O. knows just how to make her fans extra happy on this Friday morning. The Yeah Yeah Yeahs frontwoman is currently streaming her debut, solo album, in full.

Earlier this week, O. had released the audio for one of the tracks, “Days Go By,” a short little diddy about liking someone a lot. Of course, the tracks fits with the theme of the album; songs about crushes.

The new record will feature 15 tracks including “Days Go By” and lead single, “Rapt” that was released a few weeks back. In addition to the tracks, O. hosted a series of listening parties in 21 different cities to debut her new record to a selected group of [lucky] fans.

Listen to the full album here and the track list below


1. Ooo
2. Rapt
3. Visits
4. Beast
5. Comes the Night
6. NYC Baby
7. Other Side
8. So Far
9. Day Go By
10. Body
11. King
12. Indian Summer
13. Sunset Sun
14. Native Korean Rock
15. Singalong

Crush Songs is set to be released this upcoming Tuesday, Sept. 9. through Julian Casablancas’ record label, Cult Records.

The record, like O. has said several times, was conceived at a time when she was not sure about her love life. Getting out of a long-term relationship, she wondered if she would ever find the one and became somewhat of a skeptic about love at the age of 27. Now, at 35, she’s happily married and managed to put all that former-anguish into a record.

But, if you’re worried that this might be the end of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, don’t panic, this isn’t the first time O. has strayed from the band. In the past few years, O. has contributed songs to a few film soundtracks including Tim Burton’s Frankenweenie (“Strange Love”) and most recently, “The Moon Song” from former flame, Spike Jonze’s film, Her. The song did go on to earn her an Academy Award nomination after all.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.