Gerard Way Reveals More Info About ‘Hesitant Alien’


At this point, most fans of My Chemical Romance have come to grips with the fact that any hopes of reunions or one-offs are finished.

With all members going their separate ways, musically, these hopes are ling gone.

Over the last couple of months, former MCR frontman, Gerard Way had revealed that not only would he be releasing a solo album, but that he had been signed to his former band’s label, Warner Bros. Records. But, the news of the new music did not stop there.

Taking to social media, the singer released the first single from the record, “Action Cat,” as well as the name of the upcoming release which was titled, Hesitant Alien.

“I wanted to make the small things sound big,” Way said in a press release. “My intention was to make 100 percent uncompromised art, using the currently least radio-friendly instrument: the guitar. I knew there would be lots of fuzz pedals. I knew I would play Fender instruments. I knew I would look at who my guitar heroes were in art school, Mary Timony and Carrie Brownstein, and I drew a lot of influence from shoegaze and Brit-pop. I want the record to sonically galvanize people.”

Earlier this month, Way spoke with NME about the album before it was given its title, Hesitant Alien. In the interview he revealed that he was inspired by “struggle, beginnings, finding a newness in the mundane and the abstract.”

“I looked to the Britpop poets like Jarvis Cocker and Damon Albarn, drawing upon everyday life,” explained Way. “I also experimented with the abstract, and looked at Frank Black’s work both with the Pixies, and as a solo artist. There was no concept and no call-to-arms.”

Hesitant Alien will officially be released on September 30.

The album will be available for pre-order at retailers beginning Tuesday, August 19th while exclusive bundles can be purchased over at Way’s website.

For those opting for the pre-order, and instant download of new track, “No Shows” will come with that.

But when you already made a name for yourself as the lead singer of one of the biggest bands of the 2000’s how exactly do you make your debut?

At Reading and Leeds, of course.

Way will be debuting his new material during his first solo shows at Reading on August 22 and Leeds on August 23.


1. “Bureau”
2. “Action Cat”
3. “No Shows”
4. “Casting Shows”
5. “Millionaire”
6. “Zero Zero”
7. “Juarez”
8. “Drugstore Perfume”
9. “Get the Gang Together’
10. “How It’s Going to Be”
11. “Maya the Psychic”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.