YouTube Music Awards Nominees Announced


Remember how last month were told that YouTube would finally be competing with all the big music awards by creating their own? Well, at that time, the names of the nominees were yet to be revealed even though they had told us that it would take place in November in New York and that Lady Gaga and Eminem have already been confirmed as performers.

Today, the list of nominees have finally been released and for the most part, it looks very similar to every other award show that we have had this year; okay, fine, it looks more like the MTV Video Awards than the Grammys.

Leading the pack, quite like the American Music Awards are Macklemore and Ryan Lewis and we can’t forget all those who just happened to make into the mainstream music world thanks to YouTube, Justin Bieber and PSY. But while the list does tend to lean towards the mainstream world, there are some hidden, unknown, hidden gems in the mix including Toro Y Moi, Atoms for Peace, Lindsey Sterling and many others.

The full list of nominees can be seen below.


Video of the Year:

Epic Rap Battles of History – “Barack Obama vs Mitt Romney”
Demi Lovato – “Heart Attack”
Girls’ Generation ­- “I Got a Boy”
Justin Bieber (feat. Nicki Minaj) – “Beauty and a Beat”
Lady Gaga ­- “Applause”
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis (feat. Mary Lambert) – “Same Love”
Miley Cyrus ­ – “We Can’t Stop”
One Direction ­- “Best Song Ever”
PSY ­- “Gentleman”
Selena Gomez ­- “Come & Get It”

Artist of the Year:

Epic Rap Battles
Justin Bieber
Katy Perry
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
Nicki Minaj
One Direction
Taylor Swift

Response of the Year:

Boyce Avenue (feat. Fifth Harmony) ­- “Mirrors
Jayesslee ­- “Gangnam Style”
Lindsey Stirling and Pentatonix ­- “Radioactive”
ThePianoGuys ­- “Titanium / Pavane”
Walk Off the Earth (feat. KRNFX) – “I Knew You Were Trouble”

YouTube Phenomenon:

Gangnam Style
Harlem Shake
I Knew You Were Trouble
Thrift Shop

YouTube Breakthrough:

Kendrick Lamar
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
Naughty Boy

Innovation of the Year:

Anamanaguchi ­- “ENDLESS FANTASY”
Atoms for Peace ­- “Ingenue”
Bat for Lashes ­- “Lilies”
DeStorm ­- “See Me Standing”
Toro y Moi – “Say That”

Aside from all the nominees being revealed, performers for the evening were also confirmed. Joining Lady Gaga, Eminem and the Arcade Fire now are Avicii, M.I.A., Tyler, the Creator, Earl Sweatshirt among others. Host of the evening, Jason Schwartzman will now have comedian Reggie Watts as a co-host for the event that is scheduled to take place at Pier 36 on November 3.

For those not able to attend, the full event will be live-streamed through, where else, YouTube.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.